Our School Governors

Appointed as Chairperson
Mrs Ann Wheat

Vice Chairperson

Mr Gary Forster - Co-opted 

Clare Scott- Headteacher Governor                       


Mrs Allison Graydon Support Staff
Dr Barrie Crowther  Co-opted                         Mr Tony Hall Associate
Mr Andrew Gullon  Co-opted                          Mrs Sarah Hyde Co-opted
Mrs Clare Scott Associate                               Mr Garry Schulz Parent
Miss Nicola Hurst  Co-opted                             Mr Carl Harvey Parent
Mrs Jane Davison Co-opted


Governors work as a team. They are responsible for making sure the school provides a good quality education for all pupils. Raising educational standards in school is a key priority. This has the best chance of happening when there are high expectations of what pupils can achieve.
Governors support effective ways of teaching and learning when monitoring and helping to form the school aims and policies. They do this together with the head teacher, who is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school. 

At Northburn we have a full governing body who meet 3 times a year, supported by ‘Finance’ and ‘Curriculum and Standards’ committees.

The Finance committee is responsible for analysis of budgets, staffing and buildings. It aims to ensure best use of finance to support the welfare and education of all pupils and staff.

The Curriculum and Standards committee is responsible for overseeing the development of the school curriculum, monitoring standards of progress and attainment and overseeing policies directly related to the education and welfare of all pupils.


Copies of governing body papers are available for parents to view in school.

You can contact our governors via the school office.